Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
szychowski

What's better a Rose, Climbing Blue Moon OR Vine, Yellow Trumpet

szychowski
16 years ago

I have a patio with a lattus for privacy on one side. I'd like to get a perennial that grows fast. The patio is under 4 HUGE maple trees. Sun squeaks through but not a lot. I am a total newbie and have no clue what I am doing.

Comments (8)

• glen3a
    16 years ago

Hi there,

I am not sure what you mean by 'blue moon', do you mean the annual blue morning glory vine that you seed each year?

As for yellow trumpet, campsis radicans, they really aren't hardy in your zone (at least in my experience).

A climbing rose is a nice idea, but probably wouldn't get tall enough plus they love full sun, which you don't have.

Maybe research/check into these vines...

dropmore honeysuckle: This one might do okay in shady conditions, mine at the side of the house gets 2 hours of sun and still blooms.

virginia creeper: doesn't really bloom (not showy blooms) but dependable and can fill up a lattice.

Also maybe check out hops vines and clematis such as jackmanii. usually they like sun but my clematis does okay in a part shade.

Glen

• thorngrower sw. ont. z5
    16 years ago

Forget the rose idea not enough sun.Even if there was enough, its hard to find one that would survive winter in your zone.Go for a vine of some kind...Good luck :-)

• garnet69
    16 years ago

Not enough sun for the rose and being near a patio, beware the thorns; yellow trumpet creeper would take years to bloom; now I have a Clematis 'Claire de Lune' which was called 'Blue Moon' and its absolutely gorgeous, blooming right now. That'd be my choice. If I have a pic I'll post it.

• bemidjigreen
    16 years ago