Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pink_petunia

Radish

Pink_Petunia
18 years ago

So why does my radish go mostly to tops every single year? Out of about 25 radish maybe only 2 or 3 produced ever other is all tops!

Comments (12)

• glen3a
    18 years ago

I am no expert, but it's my understanding that radishes like cool temperatures and adequate moisture. They do better in plenty of sun and good soil as well, though are somewhat adaptable to hard soil. They can take light frost.

Just my personal feeling, but I feel there is only a limited "window of opportunity" to grow cool season crops in Manitoba. You know what they say, it almost seems to change from winter to summer overnight, or at least within a couple of months. That's not to say it can't be done, lots of gardeners plant lettuce, radishes, cabbage. Even market gardeners and commercial growers.

What I mean is ideal growing weather for those plants probably starts the first week in May but by the middle of June, depending on the individual year, things may start getting too warm and dry for them. Of course last year you probably could have grown them all summer with the cool wet weather.

Too warm or dry means lettuce may start to bolt and radishes may start to bloom without producing a good root first.

Interesting to hear from more experienced growers, however. If plants like radishes are kept too moist, say to soggy due to excessive rains, could that cause problems and improper root development as well?

Glen

• carmellia
    18 years ago