Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
willy807

last years pumpkin seeds?

willy807
18 years ago

I have pumpkin seeds from last Halloween, and I would like information on how to grow these.I am on the outskits of Thunder Bay, Ontario and do not even know the zone I am, as you may have already guessed I am very new to this, also I would like to transplant some rhubarb, is this the wrong time of year? Thank-you.

Comments (5)

• loloo
    18 years ago

Willy. just looked you up and you are in Zone 3A. Hope that helps a bit .Lorraine

• loomis
    18 years ago

I don't know what the last frost date is in your region, but you could plant the pumpkin seeds now & hope they have enough time to mature. Just plant several in a hill & keep them watered. With regard to rhubarb, I doubt that anyone has been able to kill it yet, so I would go ahead & transplant it.

If you research the web, you will likely get dozens of different opinions. I usually read them all then do my own thing. My credo in gardening is: "Only two things will happen, but there's only one way to find out."

The second thing I remember reading long ago is: "Put back into the soil what you take out." That is, start a compost pile, add grass clipping & leaves to your soil, and take good care of it.

So go ahead, do your thing, make mistakes, experiment, learn, and enjoy. But I must warn you, gardening is very addictive!

• heydeborah
    18 years ago