Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clax66

Help! I need advice on fixing my garden design.

clax66
10 years ago

Hello,
As a newbie, I am struggling with the design of my small, eastern facing, urban front yard garden (Toronto Zone 6) that I began last summer.

My main challenge - the huge bridalwreath spirea that came with the house. Puts on a gorgeous albeit overbearing display in May then takes up way too much real estate. I'm not removing it. The problem is that I don't know what to plant directly in front. I've been removing and shifting plants around and I dislike the flat piecemeal affect that I have going on! I planted some lamium and patriot hostas directly underneath the spirea and I want to get rid of the hostas as they are not thriving.

The David Phlox is an unsightly mess suffering from mildew (thanks to our cold and wet spring and summer this year) and I'm going to follow my sister's advice and get rid of it. The lady's mantle will move to the front of the garden underneath the rose floribundas. The columbines will move too (another impulse buy this year:(
The dwarf balloon flowers at the front were an impulse buy as well:( So basically you can assume that whole middle section needs a revamp!

Some background:

I was attracted to a green and white colour theme before I ever even heard of Sissinghurst and colour theory so I prefer to stick with this palette. When I first went to the garden centre last year and confessed to the landscaper that I was a novice gardener and wanted low-maintenance , I received a design that included three emerald spreading yews that would be way too large for the space. I promptly disregarded that design and started learning all I can about plants. Fast forward in one year and I am pleased with the section directly in front of my house that is filling in nicely (annabelle hydrangea, 3 euonymous, 3 astilbes, a lilac tree) but the middle part lacks structure and is very unattractive.