Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
denidill

your fave tender rose

denidill
18 years ago

Hi Everybody,

Calling all roses growers (I wish they had a forum for rose growers in cold climates). I am looking for your favorite tender rose, in terms of performance, disease resistance, flower power, survival after winter protection, etc.

I'm building a new rose bed for next spring and am researching what I am going to put in. So far, I have "About Face" "Sutter's Gold", "Peace", "Arizona", "Hot Cocoa", "Sea Pearl", "Fragrant Plum" and "Dainty Bess". I don't know how these will all do, nor how they will all look together, but that's my preliminary list.

Comments (15)

• glen3a
    18 years ago

I suppose your choices are endless. I'm no rose expert, but one of my favorites is 'Tropicana'. I grew it when I was a teenager at home and have recently re-acquired it. I love the glossy green foliage and the coral-orange blooms. Some sources say it only has moderate resistance to disease, but I find mine doesn't have many problems (though that could be due to our less humid climate here on the prairies). In fact I think my Morden Blush suffers more blackspot than tropicana.

It's still a bit too early to rate the performance of mine. I planted it last year and it was a 1-1/2 grade rose, so not that bushy to begin with. It came through winter nicely with just the usual winter protection (mounding peat moss and then leaves over the crown). In fact a few years ago I planted this rose and it survived one winter back then without winter protection (but died out the next).

Glen

• northspruce
    18 years ago

You're absolutely right that there should be a cold zone roses forum. The rules are different!

I have a florist's rose, Sonia, which people on the Roses forum say I shouldn't be able to grow. Does great here, been here for EVER, must be on the right rootstock.