Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melissa_tom_gw

How to prune and propagate nerium oleander?

melissa_tom
19 years ago

I inherited 3 large pots of nerium oleanders when I moved into my new home 2 months ago. The oleanders have been blooming beautifully ever since and new buds are constantly growing. I am new to gardening and do not know much about plants, so I am horticulturally helpless! They are starting to get very bushy around the bottom as new shoots have developed around the base. When is the best time to prune my oleanders so that I can get just as many buds next year? Should I prune the branches on the top or should I prune the ones around the base?

I would also like to know if anyone has had any luck propagating oleanders and how it can be accomplished.

Thanks!

Comments (3)

• florajilly
    19 years ago

I didn't know that oleanders can be grown up north , and I am from Ontario !!!! Here in Florida they are a very common landscape shrub , and you see them everywhere. This is also true in Tucson Arizona, where we used to live.
    The leaves grow well in both locations , however my own personal observation, is that the flowering was better in Arizona , ( provided the shrubs receive water during hot drought conditions ).
    Anyway, go to oleander.org That is the website of the International Oleander Society . Once on the homepage , click on Oleander Culture It's fascinating and informative.
    I have a pink shrub , which I keep about 10-12 feet tall. It is on the front lawn, which faces east. We are only 2 or 3 miles from the ocean, ( as the crow flies ! ). We took the eyewall of hurricane Frances, and our landscaping was
    " trashed " , but not this oleander !! There are no flowers on it, but the shrub looks perfect !!

Florajilly

• melissa_tom
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Florajilly,