Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
themayocynic

What are we doing?

themayocynic
14 years ago

To get ready for the warmer weather, I've already started seedlings that occupy every window in the living room, dining room and kitchen. I know it's early, but I've got the 2010 gardening bug. Unfortunately I live in a small house so I have no room for a plant light shelf and the cheapie greenhouse I got at Lowe's a few years ago got chucked into the garbage last year.

As weather permits, I'm prepping my front yard and raised veggie beds for the coming season. Also, I'm researching different floating row covers to possibly make so that I can avoid using the widow sills for seedlings.

I also bought a 3-pronged soil ph and fertility tester which tells me my veggie beds have too high of a ph and not enough fertile soil. Will start planning how to deal with that.

What are you doing this cold and rainy Saturday?

Comments (6)

• gardenluv
    14 years ago

I have been wintersowing for two months now. If you're not sure what that is you should really check it out.

Themayocynic this would be perfect for you. Like you, I have no room for light stands etc. inside. I do start some tomatoes and peppers in a couple of my windows. The rest is done outside in milkjugs.

I already have foxglove, salvia, dianthus, alyssum, and snapdragons that have sprouted outside.

I have sorted through all my seeds and every week sow a few more containers. By the end of April I hope to have about 90 types done.

Today I planted three more tomato seeds (Pearly Pink cherry, Warren's yellow cherry, and Red cherry) and another Jalapeno seed. (My window sills will only hold so much so I have to do them a few at a time).

I am so ready for this rain/hail/snow to be done with!

Oh...and I went to Raleys and bought four boxes of girlscout cookies! I am set for the rest of the weekend!

• themayocynic
    Original Author
    14 years ago