Return to the Nevada Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to gardeing and this forum

Posted by carsonsnowski Zone 5 (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 7, 08 at 22:38

I just recently moved into a house with a small back yard in northwest Reno, Nevada . I am new to gardening and need as much help as possible. My back yard gets little direct sun, it mostly gets in-direct sun. I do know you have to plant for your climate and sun exposure. I would like to know if anyone knows what plants and flowers are good to plant in this situation.
Caroline

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to gardeing and this forum

You will be amazed what you can grow in not perfect conditions. I would check out the local nursery and see what they recommend, but take some chances on a few plants that need good amounts of sun and see if they grow.

o

I recommend a visit to Dry Creek Garden Company on South Virginia, about two blocks south of the Home Depot across from the Hacienda Del Sol. There is a traffic light right where you turn into their little parking lot.

In more general terms, stick to things hardy in frost zones 5 and 6, and forget about anything zone 7 for Northwest Reno. Also bear in mind that even cactuses need a bit of supplemental water here to survive. Drip watering is great, and you don't have to water as much.

Overall,slash-nevada is right: there is a LOT you can grow here. Drive around older neighborhoods closest to your area and observe what grows well in yards. Take photos and/or notes to bring to the nursery so you can get the plants that really appeal to you.

Roses do spectacularly well here, although I recommend you only grow own-root (not grafted) varieties. You may have to use mail order to get own-root roses, but ask at the nurseries for own-root roses anyways. Roses do well here because the air is so dry and blackspot is seldom, if ever a problem. Blackspot is a disease that causes roses to lose all their leaves, get weak and even die in damper climates than ours.

o