Return to the Nevada Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Balboa Sunset Trumpet Vine

Posted by gingerb_13 NV (My Page) on
Wed, May 5, 10 at 17:14

We are just buying our first house here in Vegas, and so I have been looking for plants I might like to use in our yard. I am totally new to this and it's a little overwhelming once you begin looking in to the possibilities! I have read about the Balboa Sunset Trumpet Vine and how invasive it is.... but can I grow it potted? I'd like to find something to climb 2 columns we have in the back which support a covered patio. I like that this vine grows fast, blooms and attracts hummingbirds. Any suggestions....??? Thank you!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Balboa Sunset Trumpet Vine

Be very careful. I bought a 'Madam Galan' Trumpet vine which was supposed to be "less invasive." It went totally crazy in our sandy soil and all efforts to completely eliminate it have been unsuccessful. That said, the only way I could see containing an "invasive" trumpet vine, even if it were in a pot, would be if the pot was placed on concrete. The plant's roots will grow out of the holes in the bottom of the pot and will escape and send runners all over your yard if you plant it near soil. Googled Balboa Sunset Trumpet vine and can see why you are tempted. Blooms on my vine were orange but the Balboa looms appear a lovely red.

"Be afraid, very afraid"...kind of a Halloween vine. It will choke you, your yard, and your little dog too...

Here is a link that might be useful: Trumpet vine conversation

o