Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ljrmiller

We got us a FORUM!

ljrmiller
17 years ago

Too cool! What's new in my garden this week? Lilium superbum is blooming for the first time this week. It's got almost-neon orange, small, pendant turks-head blossoms. The bumblebees think that my front garden is nectar paradise. I could just sit and watch them all day.

Lisa

Comments (6)

• maritimer
    17 years ago

Thanks to Beca for letting me know about this forum. Hadn't realized it was in place. I'm new to Las Vegas and for the time being, can only grow things in containers. Brought several plants with me, and have them outside. Planted a few more things in pots when weather got a bit cooler than 100+. Oops - now, I'm worried that it might be too cold for them.
    Freesias starting up, as well as poppy seeds. Achimenes aren't showing yet but they take a bit of time.
    Now wondering when, and if, I have to bring some things inside. Can bougainvillas stay out if they're against the house? Daylilies, iris, balloonflower always stayed out back east. What about the orange tree?(used to bring it in but we had snow and freezing weather there.)
    Also totally confused my nerine - it grew a hefty bunch of leaves but I moved just when it was time to send up flower stalk. Now looks like it's starting leaves all over again but probably have to bring it in. And what about the amaryllis - still growing leaves but winds here keep breaking them off.
    See, I'm as confused as my plants. And normally, I grow all my annuals from seed - usually starting them inside(those slowpokes like lisianthus as early as Dec.) Maybe other things need to be started earlier too; guess it depends on when warm weather arrives again.
    From reading the postings, there are so many things that will grow here; but for me most have to wait until I have some actual flower beds...I don't think some will be happy shoved in a pot.