Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
molliepop_gw

What can I grow with limited sun in containers in Las Vegas?

Molliepop
9 years ago

Hello, I'm Mollie and I'm new to Las Vegas. I'm from Florida, where I had a yard and could grow just about whatever I wanted.
But here I am in an apartment complex. I live on the ground floor, and have limited outdoor space. Only one side of our building gets full sun, and I have two nice patios that are in shade all day. And only one (tiny) window in our place gets any sun (it's in the bathroom and I'm growing a lily in it!)

So my question is, since I am new to this place, what can I grow on my shady patios that will withstand the heat? And are they fairly forgiving plants?

Most plants I look at require full sun (and the part that gets sun only gets it in the afternoon).

I love fragrant plants and edible ones. Been wanting to start and herb garden but I just don't get enough sun (I think).

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Comments (4)

• aniajs
    9 years ago

You could try various herbs. They're cheap and relatively easy to keep going. Do you get any sun (ie morning sun or reflected light) at all on the shaded patio? Maybe basil or rosemary or sage or cilantro. You could also try some tropical-ish plants in the shady patio. Or lettuce. I'm not that familiar with the climate (I'm up in Reno), so I don't know how much heat the patio will get if it's shaded.
    Another resource would be your local garden center. They should be able to tell you what does well. You could also take a look around your neighborhood and see what, if any, plants other people are growing in similar light situations.

• eureka
    9 years ago