Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dustin_nevadanorth

Reno area

dustin_nevadanorth
17 years ago

Hi Nevada gardeners. I am glad to see this form. Hope to meet others in the area. I am north of Reno in Cold Springs. To those in the area I have lots of plants for trades and to good homes for those who want to pick them up. There is always something to thin. Just harvested my hard neck garlicÂs. Tomatoes are looking good and still fighting the earwigs.

Happy gardening Dustin

Comments (7)

• rock_junkie
    17 years ago

Hi! It was great to see a Nevada forum! It is according to where you live in the county whether you are in Zone 4 or Zone 3 - we're high and dry! Warm days, cool nights and a short growing season. I hope to see others with the same type climate share some gardening tips.

• gardenluv
    17 years ago

Hi! I am new to gardening this year, and extremely looking forward to next year's. I am so glad to finally see other people from Reno who actually garden! I too live in the North Valleys, in Stead. Maybe next year we can swap stuff?

• sha_sha
    17 years ago

Yea,

I'm glad to see this forum too. I've been reading it to see if there are any posters from the cooler climate areas. I'm in Truckee...and kind of in forum limbo. There are no Californians who have the same climate that I do. The mid-west, which gets cold, doesn't get the snow, and I'm not in the Rocky Mountains, so...limbo.

Glad to see there are some in Zone 4/5 here on this forum. I'm going to keep my eye on this one, I like the cottage and hillside forums too.

-S

• ljrmiller
    17 years ago

I'm in the warmest part of Reno-Sparks, with lots of shelter from drying winds and irrigation ponds and trees nearby. It amazes me that even in the same zip code hardiness zones vary from Zone 4/5 to my own Zone 7. Heck--my own climate zone varies from 6 to 8 on one small city lot!

Lisa

• nevadaman
    13 years ago