Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loganlady

November gardening.........

loganlady
17 years ago

Where is everyone?

What's going on in your gardens?

I am waiting (and hoping) that the first frost doesn't come soon. I have millions of tomatoes waiting to be picked-they are just turning red now. Basil is slowly dissappearing.

My winter vegetable seedlings are popping up now. This is my first time growing these so I am a bit excited about it. Hopefully everything will grow well and keep me busy working out there. Well, not too busy ;)

Beca~

Comments (7)

• bill_southerncal
    17 years ago

The Vegas garden is growing ever so slowly these days. The 3 tomatoes are getting bigger, about 4-5 oz. The largest one is ready to pick, and the other two are slowly getting color. In my mom's regular phone report, there is one rose still ready to bloom, several gardenia flowers are ready to open, and the Arabian jasmine has several of those little aromatic flowers open. The 3' calamondin tree is still happy in its 17" pot. There are little fruit on it.

beca - Good luck on your vegetable seedlings. What did you plant again? I know that collards actually taste better when it gets cool near frost, when it's larger. But I've found that cabbages and root crops seem to do/taste best around 60-65 degree highs. Any warmer, it grows and bolts quickly, but it still quite good till it hits 80 or so.

On a side note, is Interstate 15 usually drivable around Thanksgiving to/from Los Angeles? How about Christmas through New Years? I know that snow and ice are possible. But are they likely driving around noontime? Thanks for any input.

• loganlady
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Mornin' Bill

Driving the 15 fwy is a huge problem these days because of the work Caltrans is doing at the Cajon Pass. I have the internet website info for anyone who needs to know when there is a closure there at the 15 fwy & Cajon Pass.

terri_kasinga@dot.ca.gov