Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seysonn

Spring Cool Crops Sowing

seysonn
10 years ago

Hi there fellow PNWerners.

I garden in north of Seattle, Redmond area.
I was checking some of my seeds packets to see when I can sow them. (I am new to gardening here). Some of them on the package says you can start sowing from JAN to APR. Those are lettuce, peas and few other things.

Now I want to know when do you locals start you spring cool crops and what is the best time, what are the dangers and benefits.

BTW: I have also have a cold frame to use.

I look forward to reading your comments.

Comments (7)

• hemnancy
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Let's say you want to go pick some greens outdoors soon. I'm not that good at starting things at this time, but the kale, collards, turnips, and winter radishes that I started last summer by July 15, and that gave me greens in the late summer and fall, will start making new greens soon, leading up to making flower buds that I harvest like broccoli, then I eventually let them go to seed, the bees love the yellow flowers.

Maybe someone else starts early vegetables now. It will probably be like March before I try to plant peas and fava beans.

• steff442
    10 years ago

Welp, I can tell you that there is a saying in Portland: Plant peas by presidents day.

Average last frost for my area is March 15th, I think. So I usually look at the seed packet and calculate from there. I think the cool crops can usually be sown 2 or 3 weeks before last frost.

I have always been a wuss about planting out too early, though. Right now I am starting some lettuce and spinach seed in the windowsill, and will probably go ahead and start hardening off after I plant my peas....on President's day. But, knowing me, I will probably use the cold frame until around March, which may not even be necessary.