Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oregoned

Winter hardiness of Lavendar with dry winds?

OregonEd
10 years ago

Hello all-

My wife would like to plant lavender in our backyard. I know it grows fine in Oregon (we have picked it at the various u-pick farms around Portland).

How does it stand up to the dry winter winds in Portland? My yard is on a hill and can get bad east winter winds. This is my first year in this home so I don't know if this winter's winds were normal or worse than normal, but it was pretty bad.

The cold dry east winds this year have broken most of my fern's leaves and ripped off evergreen shrubs' leaves.

Will the lavender get dessicated and damaged too? If so, how does it recover?)

Thanks, Ed

Comments (10)

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

What you want for these is full sun and good drainage on a lean soil. You also need to select cold-tolerant kinds as well as ones that are not prone to fungal die-back. Even then annual shearing from early in the life of the planting may be needed to maintain a tidy appearance.

• OregonEd
    Original Author
    10 years ago

bbiy, thanks for replying!

I've got full sun and good drainage (the backyard i on a mild slope and doesn't collect water). Do you recommend any varieties for the I-5 corridor area?

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

See what local vendors have a little later, after the season is more advanced. If labeling doesn't say ask employees about hardiness and disease resistance. Shop at independent outlets so there is better selection and information than at box store plant departments.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Avoid the Spanish lavender types (L. stoechas) - these are less hardy and more prone to fungal issues. Any cultivar of Lavandula angustifolia or the x intermedia hybrids should work fine for you.