Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whygarden

Hello from Vernonia

whygarden
14 years ago

Hi all i just joined this group and would love to meet gardeners around Vernonia....First a little about me..I have been gardening for over 40 years now from Calif to New Orleans...Oregon to Belize..And the last 12 years in Vernonia,Oregon..And i have to say the north west just about made me give up on gardening.I took the master garden class 6 years ago and got me a big hoop green house and started putting in my garden..And like all Organic(NUTS)I started makeing and hauling in tons and tons of compost and manure...BIG MISTAKE IN THE NORTH WEST...Most of the nutrients are leached out every year because of the rain and you feed the monster.....SYMPHYLAN.....I KNEW SOME THING WAS WRONG...I was losing every thing(i blamed voles,bad seed,to much water)Then i got a garden book from my wife called...GROWING VEGETABLES WEST OF THE CASCADES..Steve Solomon...I couldnt stop reading the book and i have never finished a book in my life!He was writting about every thing i was thinking for the last 10 years...I was thinking this mulch compost,no till thing i have used my whole life in warm climates wasnt working here!The bugs where eating every thing!...Well i live on 30ac so i can move my garden and was starting to do that even befor getting the book,thinking what i am doing isnt working and wanted to try one more year and if it didnt work i was out of gardening!...Well like the old saying goes you are never to old to learn!...I moved my garden(hard to do after spending 10 years hauling in and making about 100 tons of compst)And now i dont use compost or manure for fertilizer..I still use it but only about 1/4in a year for the tilith..and i use a good organic fertilizer...So there it is and i am still gardening...Hope to hear from some of you close by.

Comments (5)

• hemnancy
    14 years ago