Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
svetik_gw

Who is eating my bulbs??

svetik
15 years ago

Hello all!

I am not only new to the NW, I am also new to gardening. :) We just bought out first house this fall, and now I am trying to make something out of it.

I bought and plant about 30 tulips in my front yard, and now it looks like something is eating the bulbs from underneath the ground, and the green part of the plant dies. :((

It's not moles, because there are no piles of dirt any more (I was able to get rid of them). But I did see horizontal holes about 1" in diameter in the tulips area.

Any ideas what can be done?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Sveta.

Comments (12)

• jean001
    15 years ago

Squirrels think they're candy. Or if the bulb is mushy all or in part, could be bulb flies. The latter would be very unusual if you planted them this past fall.

• Embothrium
    15 years ago

Although others have mentioned this problem as well I don't remember encountering squirrels spoiling tulips myself - and 1 in. tunnels in the ground would not be those anyway. Slugs may gnaw tulips, including the bulbs under moist conditions. Deer will snip the flowers off and leave the flower stems and leaves standing there, looking somewhat pointless.

What squirrels are murder on is crocuses. When they get into those you can tell it's them because you find the sprouts and the tunics (skins) lying on the ground with no corms left - or maybe some fragments.

Daffodils are poisonous and therefore recommended for planting in places deer frequent but this toxicity does not stop slugs from sliming up the stalks and destroying the flowers during damp weather. This is such a pervasive problem that annual routine baiting to prevent the display being ruined seems necessary on many sites.