Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelamodz

Best place in Portland to buy...

angelamodz
15 years ago

Hi,

I just bought my house last summer and this is my first year gardening. Can you please recommend the best (and least expensive!) places in Portland to get mulch, gravel, flagstone, compost, and soil for the raised bed? I think I'm going to concentrate on growing veggies in the bed and putting a path in the yard this year.

Comments (7)

• buyorsell888
    15 years ago

Heritage Rock is where we get stone of any kind.

We get our compost which we use for mulch at All Wood Recyclers, we take excess yard debris there as well.

Here is a link that might be useful: All Wood Recyclers

• larry_gene
    15 years ago

For SE Portland:

Clackamas Landscape Supply (Oregon City near transfer station & Home Depot)

All About Stone (SE Division & 159th)

Mt Scott Fuel (SE Foster in the 60's)

• buyorsell888
    15 years ago

It is right off the I205 in Oregon City. There are a lot of rock places around though. We bought our basalt columns here really cheap and they let me hand select scrap rock for my pond edges cheap here too.

Here is a link that might be useful: Heritage Rock

• cascadians
    15 years ago

Heritage Rock and Clackamas Landscape Supply are very close to our house and are very close to each other. We have bought a lot from both places. Heritage Rock has a bargain bin in the back that sometimes has good deals. Clackamas Landscape Supply also sometimes has deals in bins near their office. Spend some time driving and walking around each. Bring mud boots!

Clackamas Landscape Supply has excellent 4-way-blend topsoil. They will deliver it by the yard in a dump truck. The delivery guy is superb. Or they will load it into your truck or trailer. They load it into our 5-gallon buckets when we need piecemeal extra.