Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
19juju54

Acer Shirasawanum 'Autumn Moon' in a container

19juju54
13 years ago

I am very new to gardening. I am considering repotting my Japanese maple as I potted it last year in Miracle Grow soil(with some added pea gravel) with styrofoam on the bottom. I think that I have learned way too much over the past months to leave it in the stuff. I have been reading a lot on the container gardening site about Al's Gritty mix and the 5:1:1 mix. I read somewhere on this forum that a barky type mix would be a good choice for a JM and was wondering if any of you have used the 5:1:1 or have a blend that you like better. I thought that I would use the gritty mix but my container is really big (24"diam and 18" tall) and with all of the screening of turface and grit thatv I did for my houseplants I ended up with not much usable material...It would be quite costly unless I use a smaller cache pot which is a possibility too. I can definitely go with the Gritty Mix if you JM experts think it is superior.

My JM has tiny buds on it and so I guess I should do this very soon or wait until late fall? How often should I expect to re-pot in a barky type mix? Every year? Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Julie

Comments (5)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    13 years ago

If you do it, do it soon. Before the tree is fully budded or leafed out will present the least amount of stress, although I have repotted containerized JM's at pretty much all times of the year. You just need to take more care at less ideal times.