Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ihatepavelbure

planting time for these veggies?

ihatepavelbure
13 years ago

Hi all,

I am a newbie gardener living in Portland. I'm lazy and garden from starts. I know it's time to plant salad green starts, and if my information is correct it's also time to plant peas and green onions. Is that true?

Also, I am planning on doing potatoes this year via the "garbage can" method found here:

http://www.ehow.com/how_2222722_grow-potatoes-garbage-can.html

Is this also the time to start seed potatoes?

Thanks in advance for any help you all can give. This is only my second year gardening, and last summer's weather was really weird so I'm kind of starting afresh.

Here is a link that might be useful: Potatoes in a Garbage Can

Comments (16)

• larry_gene
    13 years ago

I would hold off on planting while we are in the midst of below-normal temperatures (there was frost this morning, daytime is not even getting to 50) and rainfall that is at a record March pace (5" thru the 19th)...

...unless you are in control of the water by using a greenhouse or cover system or containers.

I looked at the garbage potatoes and it could be a fun experiment, but there are so many unmentioned variables in those instructions, beware.

Like, what size of holes to drill in the garbage can? You are not going to get good drainage in that can unless you make so many large holes that you will need to put some screen in the bottom to keep the soil from leaking out. Plus you can't just set the can on a flat firm surface--that will block the drainage. The project requires almost daily attention just for the luxury of harvesting potatoes using gravity (turning the can upside-down).

Potatoes are successfully planted in flat, open ground all the time--that is where your french fries come from, after all. If you don't have the room, try the can. Most of the garbage-system instructions were fine, it's the container that's iffy. Famine is likely.

• PRO