Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rae77_gw

front yard hedge - where do I start?

Rae77
11 years ago

I have a 1970s ranch home that is on a private, road with no sidewalk in front. Our yard basically grows up, into, the side of the road. Currently there is a very rickety wooden fence (about 3-4 feet tall) that runs the length of the yard. It is rotten and looks terrible. I would like to replace it with a hedge that will run the length of the yard (70 feet). It will not get watered after it is established. It is on the south side, so it gets sun. I am looking for something that will not be more than 5 feet so I can still see out to the road from my front window. I would possibly like something with some color, but my top priority is low maintence, fairly dense growing that will quickly be about 5 feet tall. I am totally new to landscaping, so I feel very lost. Thank you for any suggestions you may have!

Comments (6)

• Rae77
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for your suggestion. . I am definitly willing and expecting to have to prune a couple times a year. It will be in an area however that is hard to get much water to, so this plant seems like a good option. Please forgive my true ignorance, but is it OK to plant these throughout the spring and into the early summer? If so, do you wait until the next year to do any pruning? Thank you for the advice!

• Embothrium
    11 years ago

Plant soon or next fall, not when summer drought right around the corner. Commence pruning when desired size being reached, as you are wanting the height as soon as possible. If using ceanothus do not cut back into older, harder stems.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago

Not all plants get indefinitely tall :-) They have a genetic predisposition to a "typical" mature size and once they achieve that mature size, growth slows significantly although does not halt completely.