Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmiecarm

Painting raised beds

CarmieCarm
10 years ago

I am a novice gardener. Up until this year I have only grown flowers in my garden. I did have a few tomato plants and strawberries last year and did okay with them. I have just acquired some large apple bins from the east side and plan to grow some veggies in them this year.

The bins came with some spray paint markings on the outside and I was wondering if there is a "safe" paint I could use on the outside of them to make them less of an eyesore .

Any advice?

Comments (10)

• larry_gene
    10 years ago

Orchard tote-bins are awfully deep for homeowner raised beds, unless you are referring to bushel boxes. Veggies will do fine in 12 to 16" of soil.

Not sure what an unsafe paint would be as it is going on the outside of the bins. Use a paint intended as the primer layer as bin wood would not be suitable for a finish coat only. Primer paint can be tinted to many colors.

This post was edited by larry_gene on Mon, Apr 29, 13 at 23:01

• oliveoyl3
    10 years ago

Perhaps, instead of painting over the paint just try to sand it off with an electric sander. The random type makes it smooth without taking off too much. You could also try higher grit paper or a wire brush if the paint is persistent and the wood strong enough.

Just know that the paint might contain lead, so take precautions.

Our scrap lumber raised beds had stray markings, but once plants grew up & the sunshine grayed the wood I didn't notice it anymore. It's only in early spring or just after harvest that you'd notice.

Another idea might be to disguise the most visible sides of the boxes with bamboo mats like what you'd take to the beach in Hawaii or roll up bamboo screening shades.

I've been patching drywall, sanding & painting lately prior to a move, so am aware of the fussiness of getting paint applied straight & smooth on irregular surfaces or trying to not get it on some things like popcorn ceiling.