Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
estreya_gw

Veggie Selections - Cross Post

estreya
15 years ago

Hello, everyone! I know this isn't necessarily the "correct" forum for this question, but i'm finally starting a raised bed veggie garden this year, and i'm looking for suggestions on what grows well in our area.

By the end of next weekend, i will have (4) 4x8 beds to fill. I thought i would plant 4 different kinds of tomatoes at the center of each bed (i'm wild about tomatoes), and then fill in the ends with other kinds of veggies. I wouldn't mind one area for a cutting flower garden as well, but maybe i should wait on that till i get more skilled.

I'm not sure how much things will spread, so i've got only a bare bones outline that i'm hoping you all can comment freely on and help me fill in. I've never done a veggie garden before, and i'm nervous.

Any suggestions?

Also, is it too late to direct sow seeds at this point, or must i purchase babies?

{{gwi:42045}}

Comments (10)

• larry_gene
    15 years ago

Your setup looks reasonable, much better than trying to cram everything into one or two beds.

It's getting a little late to start tomatoes from seed. Brussels have a very long timeline; it may not matter. Carrot seeds are definitely OK.

You might squeeze 4 different determinate-type tomatoes in the center of any one bed; just 2 indeterminate types (or even one) would easily take over the central area of the bed. Plant tomatoes one foot or more in from the bed edge.

• hemnancy
    15 years ago