Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When are you starting/transplanting your tomatoes?

Posted by tylermaster195 Western Washington (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 14, 11 at 19:14

I live in western Washington. I am new to growing tomatoes. I have started them as seed 2 day's ago. I was wondering when you guys normally transplant your tomatoes here? Specifically a date?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When are you starting/transplanting your tomatoes?

In your case, if you just started your seeds you should just transplant them when they are 6-8 weeks old. The weather should be fine in early June, and they'll probably have time to make some tomatoes for you by late August, depending on the variety. Any later than that and you might not give them enough time to grow. They can keep producing and ripening through mid September or a little later, but that's about as long as they will last.

In general, if you plant to transplant mature seedlings in the ground out in the open, they'd need to transplant around May 15 or later. If you put them under a low tunnel of some kind (clear plastic over hoops) you can do it as early as late April in a good year (April 20 is the last possible frost date in Seattle). However looking at the 10-day forecast, I wouldn't do that this year since it's still rather cool and overcast. In your case you started them a bit late, but I think you have enough time to get a harvest in, late in the season.

I am in Seattle, so the info I provide here might be a little off where you are.

o

There are no specific dates, only specific conditions.

Of course you do have to commit to planting seeds by a certain date. Ours were planted last weekend.

Your outdoor soil should have warmed somewhat and become workable. Keeping is loosened will help it warm up faster. If the forecast is for nights well under 50 degrees, wait until after then before planting out, even if there has been some warmish weather already.