Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
klgpdx

Lawn covered by GIANT pine tree... help!

klgpdx
15 years ago

Hi all,

I am totally new to gardening, and am completely lost by what to do with my yard. Both my front yard and back yard are covered with GIANT pine trees. Of course, I bought the house last June when there was grass, so I was really excited to have a lawn (been living in cities for a while). By July, the grass was dead. I am told this is because of the pine needles dropping. Also, apparently grass and pine trees need different soil types. So if I try to remedy the soil for grass, it will kill the tree.

I still want a lawn I can enjoy... step on, lay down on, let me dog run around, etc. I HATE bark mulch, and rocks would be terrible because I could never rake up the pine needles.

Any suggestions? I am aware of Stepables ground cover... but that can get expensive when you're looking at a front and back yard.

Thansk!

Comments (23)

• buyorsell888
    15 years ago

Mature conifers and lawns don't mix. The former owner likely seeded the lawn to stage the house for sale.

When the rain stops in July, the tree roots take all the moisture even if you water. My back lawn turns brown pretty much over night when this happens. My neighbors have mature Doug firs. The roots and branches are 20 ft onto my property. The flower bed along the fence doesn't fare much better even with soaker hoses. Gardening under conifers is best confined to plants that are native to that sort of habitat.

Sorry, not what you wanted to hear.

• larry_gene
    15 years ago

..and be aware that to remove any tree over 20 feet tall or having a 12-inch trunk or larger requires a City permit--this would only be enforced if a neighbor complains, and there would be complaints--people like big trees, especially ones not on their lot (big trees easier to view from a distance)!

• cascadians
    15 years ago