Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Rhododendron ID - - pics

Posted by kimichangirl 7b (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 8, 10 at 20:48

I am fairly new to gardening and have been trying to id this rhododendron in our yard ... I think it must be a popular hybrid because I see it all over the place but I haven't had much luck figuring out its name!

The flower buds are a beautiful pink and then open to a light peach blush color fading to white as the season progresses. Pictures below and thanks in advance for any information you can give! :)

Rhodie -- close up of flower

Rhodie -- flower buds and leaves

Sorry this one is a little blurry:

Rhodie -- full

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Rhododendron ID - - pics

• Posted by bboy USDA 8 Sunset 5 WA (My Page) on
    Fri, Apr 9, 10 at 0:14

The common one of this ilk is 'Unique'.

o

Yes, 'Unique' isn't very unique it is so popular but it is a nice Rhodie.

o

Fri, Apr 9, 10 at 12:15

We and our neighbors lost 40+ year old specimens to mildew after it became prevalent (starting in the 90s). In my area you now have to choose rhododendrons for fungus resistance if you don't want to be spraying fungicides in order to keep leaves on them.

Same as with roses.

Only unlike with roses, most susceptible varieties die if not protected (from repeated, progressing premature leaf loss).

o

That's it -- thanks! I do love it, even though it is a common Rhodie.

Haven't had any problems with fungus, but we did have a really bad infestation of lacebugs for a few years in a row that made it look awful.

o

Fri, Apr 9, 10 at 16:30

Apparently many thought the gauntness of their rhododendrons for some years after the 1990 winter was due to cold damage, when it was actually due to the local dispersal and onset of mildew.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!