Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How did wintersowing go for you?

Posted by aphroditelaughs Puget Sound (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 6, 09 at 23:08

This was my first year wintersowing, and doesn't it figure we get an unusual winter. I have had some things sprout, but probably just less than half of what I ws'd. How did the rest of you fare? Was this winter just too cold? Is there a flaw in my technique? Is it too early to tell if I succeeded or not? I'd love to hear about other's experiences.

Thanks,
Ellie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How did wintersowing go for you?

This is my first year as well. So far, it's been going great. I think the recent nice weather has helped as I've been getting more containers sprouting everyday. Some still haven't sprouted but am told to remain patient and they will most likely pop up. Am waiting on most of my hollyhocks, pestemen, lavender, lambs ears, alpine strawberries, and a few others that haven't sprouted. Poppies have sprouted so have blackeyed susans, mexican hat, lettuce, spinach, lupine, garlic chives, painted daisies, soapwort, brussel sprouts, broccoli, parsley and broccoli rabi.

What did you winter sow? Kelly

o

I've been wintersowing for several years and things seem a bit slower to sprout this year. About 1/3 of mine have sprouted but with this warm sunshine I'm getting more every day. I think we may just have to be patient - the hard winter slowed everything down.

o

My first year veggy gardening and I decided to try the gammut of methods, including early sowing, and call it a 'learning experience'.

Spinach, arugula, chard, green onions and mesclun are up.
The peas and snap pears are both about a half-foot tall. The first planting of both is shorter than the second planting; the second planting was pre-soaked for about a week, but not by plan: I just couldn't picture putting them in the ground while it was snowing!

o