Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
metta2006

What to plant now?

metta2006
14 years ago

Hi,

I'm a newbie so please help. What seeds can I plant now? carrots, raddishes, peas, broccoli..etc? Is there a planting schedule on the web? Thanks!

Comments (7)

• Embothrium
    14 years ago

Ask at a garden center.

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    14 years ago

Where in BC are you? I'm on Vancouver Island, all the seeds you mentioned can go in now where I am. Veggies like tomatoes Cucs and Squash I have just planted out but are protected by hot caps.

• Embothrium
    14 years ago

Not hot enough at night in this climate for tropicals like tomato plants. Stock displayed in open at local outlets shows signs of chilling.

Friend who grows vegetables using frames and raised beds north of Seattle is still using plastic over several of the beds, including the one with cucumbers. Is home during the day to roll the plastic back as needed. Otherwise, a frame with panes that were opened by automatic sensors could be tried.

Cooperative Extension has said in the past that tomato plants subjected to cold nights will be checked the rest of the season. Friend says tomato plants can come back OK from chilling, that the one that doesn't turn out if it is too cold at planting time is corn. He is currently warming the soil with plastic in an attempt to get the corn seeds to come on well.

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    14 years ago

This has been such a cold spring so far, things that are usually planted in march are just going in now in my neck of the woods. I've got a few of the tender things planted but they're all under hot caps.
    Some around here don't plant anything until June 1st and have great results.

• madrone
    14 years ago