Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melody_s_gw

What to do first?

melody-s
11 years ago

I am in the process of buying a home with 1/2 acre on a hill. I am new to gardening in this climate, and I will be moving in early July. The previous owners did a fair amount of work and (bless them) removed all the blackberries which was apparently a huge job. The existing garden doesn't quite suit my tastes and there is a lot of open space.

I am planning ahead and would really like some ideas of where to start. There is so much space and I am at a bit of a loss for where to begin. I would love ideas on the best ways to spend the first summer in my new garden.

Comments (7)

• Embothrium
    11 years ago

Hire a garden coach, consultant or designer to assist you.

• tanowicki
    11 years ago

Don't rush into planting all over everywhere until you find out what is actually there. There may be some plants that are just emerging now that you may want to keep.

I would find a nice spot and put in a vegetable garden and spend the time tending that looking at the yard and how you plan on using it.

Keep a tight lid on that blackberry, it will want to return.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago