Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nwgardengirl

achieving a nice look without bark

nwgardengirl
16 years ago

Hi ya, first post and I am a relatively new gardener. I just moved into a new construction home last year and this is the first spring that I have been able to get into the gardens that I have created on my tiny suburban lot.

My problem is I love the look and the smell of beauty bark but it seems to wreck havic on my gardens; it chokes the tender plants, it fades quickly and it inevitably will find its way under my skin as I am gardening - besides the fact that my darling hubby detests the stuff.

Is there alternatives to mulching and keeping the weeds reduced in my gardens without using beauty bark. I cant use the cocoa hulls because of my bulldog, that would head straight for them when he goes outside.

Since I am new this is what is in my garden this year - please excuse me if I am a novice and dont know what varieties I have.

Gladiolas

Cannas

Hollyhocks

Asiatic Lillies

petunias

a Little Kim lilac

one little azalea

one small rody

some grasses (development placed them before we bought the house)

some daffs (yea - STILL blooming!)

and some primroses

and hostas

please help - I feel like such an incompetent when it comes to gardening!

Comments (35)

• Embothrium
    16 years ago

I prefer cedar chips from a cedar mill - when somebody else is paying for the mulch. Otherwise I use tree service wood chips. Can't beat the price.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bark Mulch

• nwgardengirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

how and where do you get tree service wood chips?

• rocket_girl
    16 years ago

There's lots of alternatives:

Shredded leaves - my favorite. I've never seen them sold, but you should be able to get lots of them in the fall either from your own leaves or 'stolen' on trash pickup day.

Straw or Hay - this isn't the look for everyone, but it's pretty cheap.