Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cold Weather &Carrots

Posted by IsRad Wa (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 20, 11 at 3:10

Hi,
So this spring and summer aren't exactly conducive to my direct seed planting. I'm brand new to this but none of my carrots or pumpkins are coming up at all. I planted the end of April and again middle of May. Any ideas? If I have to I'll germinate inside. Is this happening to anyone else?
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cold Weather &Carrots

• Posted by laurell 8 - Washington (My Page) on
    Mon, Jun 20, 11 at 14:54

Most of my stuff is doing merely satisfactorily, and I went all out and made hoop houses for the first time this year. Sad showing, although we can probably look forward to a bountiful and long lasting crop of peas this year!

o

Sowed both carrots & radishes 4/17 with germination & slow growth at first. Now carrot top growth is about 4". Radishes are towering over them at 8-10". Some good size radishes & others are mostly tops as they were shallowly rooted. I had hoped the mulching would help them.

Our cabbages, kale, lettuces, spinach, chives, & broccoli seem to be thriving as long as I keep up with slug control. Deer found the lettuces quite tasty the other night, but I've planted enough for all of us!

I am embarrassed to admit that all the warm season things are still in the greenhouse (tomatoes & peppers) or are still seeds in the packets (summer & winter squash & cucumbers). Soil had been covered with black plastic for weeks & uncovered on the weekend, so should be moist, warm, & ready to plant now at least for squashes.

With 47 degrees at night I'm holding back the peppers & tomatoes until it's warmer & thinking about rearranging things to keep most in large pots in the greenhouse instead.