Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where to plant Abutilon?

Posted by bluephoenixx 10 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 13, 10 at 3:14

Howdy,

I'm a super newbie gardener in San Francisco. I really have no idea what I'm doing - it's all trial and error at this point. I created a raised bed in my sandy yard and planted a bunch of stuff I just happened to like. Recently I bought an Abutilon and read that it likes morning sun and afternoon shade. My problem is there is only one small corner of my raised bed that fits those conditions and I already have a very happy Phormium taking up most of that space. I could probably inch the Phormium back a tiny bit but would the Abutilon still be too crowded in there? I could probably also move the raise bed out further into the yard but I was hoping to create more hardscape there instead (cat probably won't like that much). Can I move it to a large container and place outside of the bed? I read that Abutilons are not always happy in containers. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where to plant Abutilon?

• Posted by bboy USDA 8 Sunset 5 WA (My Page) on
    Sun, Jun 13, 10 at 16:31

Move the phormium, which will get much bigger and would probably just as soon be in full light anyway.

The flowering maple can be trained flat onto the fence, rather than allowed to bulge out over the other plants.

o

btw, abutilons grow beautifully in containers. In fact, in areas where the vast majority of them are not fully hardy - like here in the PNW - most of them are grown as seasonal container plants and/or houseplants. I've grown various species and hybrids in containers for many years. It is at least an option to consider if garden space is at a premium.

o