Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oliveoyl3

picking tomatoes yet?

oliveoyl3
11 years ago

I am eager to hear of tomato successes. Do you have ripe tomatoes? Where are you located? What works for you?

I have been planting tomatoes for many years, but don't have it figured out yet. This year I am thinking my tomatoes are doing well especially as compared to the last 2 years. I have fruit set on some plants with blooms on all. Oregon Spring are at breaker stage, so will be 1st to ripen here. They're maybe not the best tasting tomatoes, but they're reliable in our cool climate. I attempt to grow short season 70 days or less varieties for fresh eating as well as freezing or canning for winter use. This year I'm trying out the perforated plastic red mulch over my soakers with straw mulch around the edges. I also have 2 liter & milk jugs of water and large stones set on top of the mulch as heat sinks. I'm not convinced those are necessary, but it makes me feel better having them to release some heat in evening. By morning of course they're cold again.