Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
ID Portland Oregon freeway roses: pictures

Posted by pdxlights usda 8 (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 13, 08 at 20:18

I finally went out and took photos of the glorious roses growing along Hwy 405. What could they be? Here they are at the following site: http://www.flickr.com/photos/28566127@N07/?saved=1
I hope this worked as they are apparently too large to upload directly into gardenweb.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ID Portland Oregon freeway roses: pictures

I am by no means an expert, but in Washington they mostly use grootendorst roses along the highways. I have grown them myself and I believe that the roses in your pictures are pink grootendorst and grootendorst supreme (red).

o

• Posted by bboy z8 WA USA (My Page) on
    Thu, Jul 17, 08 at 0:11

I see mostly non-Grootendorst rugosa roses. Some sections also have R. multiflora. In the Willamette Valley, where there appears to have been a lot more of it planted in the median it seems to have seeded out from there into adjacent farmland. In other parts of the country it is such a pest that a hypervirulent form of rose rosette disease was cultured and let loose to clear the multiflora rose out of forestlands. This disease is now infesting and spoiling garden roses over an increasing area.

o

Frankly in WA I have never seen Grootendorst roses along the freeways. What WSDOT plants is seedling rugosas, Rosa rugosa. Cherry red, dark pink, and white, all large single flowers. They dont' plant named varieties usually. Sometimes I see R. nootkana or R. pisocarpa.

I don't know what those roses are in your photos. I do know they're not Rosa rugosa, and they're not Grootendorst. Grootendorsts have small, carnation-like flowers.

Your DOT dept may be able to tell you what they are. Or ask the Portland Rose Society.

o

• Posted by bboy z8 WA USA (My Page) on
    Sat, Jul 19, 08 at 14:25