Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sloopy312

Lawn From Seed in Clay Soil

sloopy312
14 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new here. We are moving to Eatonville, WA up in the hills [about 800 feet]. There was a forest covering Top soil from Doug Fir but shortly under that is clay. The "top soil" has been covered by the clay. When it rains a few days you'll sink in the clay. I love the wilds and nature and want a naturak lawn that is hardy with deep roots. I like clover, dandelions and the such along with my grass [maybe rye?].

I am new to this and a disabled vet so we would like an easy care lawn.

Considering the clay, what kind of preparation should I make, what to use for a "Top Soil" as some have said no dirt but use sand, bark, compost or mulch or???.

I have a chipper and can chip a lot of Douglas Fir to cover the clay if that is wise. Should I till the clay?

We're on a budget but I want a natural looking lawn. I don't need a manicured all grass lawn.

Any ideas on what seed, soil and, if I can't how to find the right person to do the job?

Thanks,

Nelson USAF Retired

Comments (2)

• reg_pnw7
    14 years ago

Well I'm a little confused by your terminology but I'll give it a shot.

First of all, repeat three times slowly, with a deep breath in between: There's Nothing Wrong With Clay. Clay Is Good.

Clay holds water and nutrients. That's a good thing. You won't have to water or fertilize so often. I wish I had clay. I have sandy gravelly till, and lawns do real poorly in that. No clay to speak of, so it dries out faster than I care to water it, and the sand erodes away in between rocks and clumps of grass, so it's all hillocky and rocky and hard to walk on.

No, chipping doug firs to cover clay soil will not be a good idea. Your grass would be growing in wood chips - not a good idea.