Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
victoriannoire

propagating fig trees

victoriannoire
14 years ago

hello all. my boyfriend's family is selling their home and in their backyard is a well-loved fig tree that he wants to take a cutting of to grow a new one from. i have been researching this online as i am not too experienced in propagation and it seems like this particular tree is hard to grow from cuttings. i have heard that taking 10-inch cuttings and putting them in the fridge will work (for "winter-izing"), but its a 50% success rate....

does anyone have any suggestions on this?

Comments (6)

• novita
    14 years ago

I found figs to be easy to root - I always have several "babies" growing. Just cut off a shoot,(10 in sounds good) dip the end in rooting hormone and insert into a sandy soil. Maybe I have an easy variety but have never had any trouble.

• JudyWWW
    14 years ago

I root the shoots which emerge from around the base with no difficulty. If they have time in this slow real estate market they might also try bending either a shoot or a low flexible branch down, weighting it down and burying it a few inches deep and wide (4" x 4" would be great) while still attached and the branch continuing on the other side of buried section. After about 6 months (depending on time of year) roots will have formed and it can be cut from the mother plant. Side shoots also root easily in water if the move happens too suddenly to prepare. The transition to soil can then be tricky but a bucket full of water rooted cuttings should produce a few which root in soil. I took bucket full of water rooted cutting to a garden club meeting and friends have reported success with them.
    BTW there is a very good FIG forum on gardenweb. jwww

• victoriannoire
    Original Author
    14 years ago