Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellen_portland

Pruning questions

ellen_portland
11 years ago

Hi all,

My garden is getting a little overgrown. I have some questions on a few plants:

I have a decent sized lavender patch that needs to be cut back and refreshed- it is about 5-6 years old. I would like to prune it so the rock wall underneath is is visible again (everything has started to grow down and over) The plants bloomed late this summer, so I am just starting to enjoy them, but would like to know when is the right time to prune? Can I do it in October?

I have an Amethyst Hydrangea that has become very big and leggy in my front garden. I would like to trim it back so it is more compact. I believe I read that the blooms come on old wood and if you cut it all back you won't get any blooms the next year... but what if you need to resize/revitalize the plant?

Many of my roses (I am very new to growing)have become tall. When are you supposed to cut the bushes down short so they will branch out fuller for next season?

Last, but not least, I have a Kiwi plant that grows vigorously at the beginning of the summer, but this is the second year it all of a sudden starts dying back- frustrating- is this normal or do I just have problems with the established mole population in my yard?

Comments (5)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago

Lavender should be trimmed back twice a year - once lightly after bloom season and harder in spring after new growth starts to emerge. Be sure not to cut back into bare wood. Lavenders tend to be relatively shortlived -- 5-6 years is considered a good life for them (commercial growers rotate their plants out on a 2-3 year cycle). If you have not routinely pruned these plants back before and they have started to develop a very woody interior, then I'd suggest replacing them next season.