Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eastside1

Would this lilac be evergreen in Seattle area?

eastside1
14 years ago

Hello,

I am looking for an evergreen shrub and come cross Ceanothus thrysiflorus (Blueblossom, California Lilac) - http://www.nwplants.com/business/catalog/shrubs.html. Does anyone know if it would be evergreen in Seattle area? Or any other variety would be evergreen?

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• laurell
    14 years ago

According to the internet, it should be. We all know what that means though. lol. I have no direct experience with them, but would be interested to find out, they're on my list of plants to try to find.

Another fragrant flowering shrub that is evergreen in our climate that can handle some sun is the Mexican Mock Orange. I picked one up at Flower World (if you're in the north/east of Seattle area) that I'm absolutely smitten with. I'm getting a second set of flowers currently, and it smells heavenly.

• PRO
    George Three LLC
    14 years ago

this last winter in Portland the Ceanothus thrysiflorus in my neighborhood survived but looked a little sad. the mexican mock oranges didn't even blink- they were among the best looking evergreens thru jan/feb till the other ones recovered.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    14 years ago

Yes, it is evergreen. Ceanothus thrysiflorus is a common enough plant in this area and is most noticeable in late May or June when it is in bloom. And it is much hardier than often given credit for as long as it has good drainage, rather lean soil and is pretty much left alone after establishment with regards to watering or fertilizing - i.e., don't! It has been discussed often enough on this forum so you might want to explore the archives for previous threads. And you might want know it is not a 'lilac' but ony carries that as part of its common name - flowers are held in small clusters, an intense blue and carry no discernable scent.