Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tibanks

Growing Crape Myrtle?

tibanks
13 years ago

Hello all, I am in need of info on growing crape myrtle in my area. I've waited a year to add CM to my yard and I'm going tomorrow to pick up my tree/shrub. What should I know about planting and caring for my new CM? I don't want to spend $60. and end up killing it. I've picked out a very sunny location, but what should I use for additional soil when planting it up? would miracle grow work well? Also can I use compost like straw with chicken manure?(I have chickens)Or would this be to much? Do I even need compost? I am very new to gardening, let alone adding expensive shrubs to my yard so any info would be very useful.

Thanks in advance.

Tina in OR.

Comments (23)

• jean001
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

- Plant in existing soil in a site with good drainage.
    - Don't "fix" what you put back into the hole.
    - After digging the hole, fill with water & let soak in; repeat.
    - Before setting the tree in the hole, soak (max 20 minutes) the entire rootball by setting in a bucket or tub.
    - Refill around rootball with existing soil
    - Settle the soil by watering well
    - No fertilizer, not even compost or chicken.
    - Mulch is good; straw is fine
    - Apply water to the original rootball every day or so during the early months.

A tree requires at least two years of supplemental irrigation to establish a sturdy root system.

• grrrnthumb
    13 years ago

I would second what Jean says about not adding to your dirt. I don't know specifically about crape myrtle, but generally heat-loving trees with small leaves come from more nutrient-poor areas, and adding compost & manure could really harm the tree.
    I'm really jealous of you, wish we could grow them up here in the Seattle area, but we just don't get enough sun.
    - Tom

• Embothrium
    13 years ago

Watering every day could easily be excessive, depending on individual circumstances.