Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
faeglenn

Looking for suggestions on a smaller climbing plant

faeglenn
11 years ago

I have a small (4ft tall by 3ft wide) metal arch trellis that I just cleared off and I'm hoping to put something in the ground to cover it that won't entirely pull it down (it's metal, but could easily be pulled down by something too heavy). There is already a small rose plant nearby and I have a lot of experience maintaining rose gardens, so I was thinking something like a Zephirine Drouhin or other climbing rose would be nice, as the trellis is just against a low fence and gets full sun a majority of the day, but I wasn't sure if the thinner metal would be enough to support it, or what varieties would be best in a North Seattle suburban climate. I've tried growing jasmine here before and, man, did that not work. Would I be better off getting as hardy a Bougainvillea I can find, or is there something comparable? I swear I know how to garden, I've just never had to put in a climbing plant and I don't want to choose something ridiculously ill-equipped. Any tips on establishing would be great, too! Thanks!

Comments (35)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago

That is a very small trellis, so you need to look for an equally small vine. Zepherine Drouhin will easily engulf it in no time, as will pretty much any other climbing rose I can think of. No bougainvillea will be hardy in this climate plus they all also grow huge. Even hardy jasmine (and there are several species that are fully hardy here) will rapidly exceed that support.

I'd look for one of the semi-climbing clematis. These are usually integrifolia hybrids that sprawl rather than climb - 'Harlow Carr', 'Rooguchi' and 'Arabella' are all possibilities. You could also hunt down some of the Evison