Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluedogrose

Seattle Garden Shed

bluedogrose
18 years ago

I am researching my new idea to build a garden shed/painting studio in the yard, I love the idea of being able to paint without the fumes permeating the house, and having someplace to store some garden things. Problem number one is that I'm an artist with a fairly tight budget (cheaper is better, but I am willing to save/be in debt for good quality) Number 2 is my capentry experience is limited to assembling Ikea furniture. I can however pour footings for a foundation, concrete is my friend since I have been doing sculpture with it for years now. I have found that I can build a 10 x 12 shed without a permit in Seattle, and don't need electric or water in the shed at this time. There are lots of plans on line (popular mechanics)which I find rather intimidating. There are also shed kits out there but they seem a bit pricey. Has anyone experience in building a shed? Did you have a contractor do it? What was the cost? Did you do it yourself? Did you buy a kit? Do you know of any local companies you can recommend (or I should avoid)? I hope to start next Spring/summer, so any feedback is welcome, and Thanks!

Oh- ideally, I'd like a wood structure (no metal or plastic) with lots of windows. And I don't have a truck or vehicle access to the yard, so it will need to be assembled on-site.

Comments (10)

• Ratherbgardening
    18 years ago

There might be some businesses that recycle building materials where you could get windows and doors, maybe even some lumber, cabinets, etc. No help in getting you started, I know, but just wanted to mention it as a way to save some money.

• pgtips
    18 years ago

I have a friend who built a garden shed/greenhouse, using a surplus Metro Bus shelter as a base. The natural light is fantastic, and the materials weren't expensive at all. You might check w/metro.

• ell_in_or
    18 years ago