Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eeldip

big drought resistant grasses (or something else)

George Three LLC
10 years ago

so, new house. corner lot, on what is essentially an alley. there is a large section of property-- 75x30 or so that is in the alley right of way. currently just lawn. i want to break up that sight line visually, define the property a bit more.

since the area is in the right of way, trees are not supposed to be planted. everything should have the appearance of being easily taken out.

i was thinking of putting in a few "big grass" islands. BUT HERE IS THE CATCH. i really would prefer to barely water them.

i've never had room for something like miscanthus, so i have no experience with them. do people water them in the summer? any other non woody plants that do a similar thing that are drought friendly?

Comments (18)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

Cortaderia - pampas grass - is about the most drought tolerant of the larger OG's. Next would be the switch grasses (Panicum) and then followed by miscanthus and calamagrostis.

On the whole, most ornamental grasses tend to be pretty DT but there are variations. Miscanthus would really perform and look best with bimonthly watering during the summer months. Pampas grass can get by with virtually none, once established.

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

If you are in the local area Cortaderia has become a weed here. Yucca might work for you.

• PRO
    George Three LLC
    Original Author
    10 years ago

portland, oh and exposure is full sun to part sun.

i could probably live with bimonthly waterings for a couple years.

i would go with yucca, but i do want something faster in this spot.

any thoughts on arundo or panicum?

• larry_gene
    10 years ago

I do notice around Portland that the yucca flower stalks topple much more often than the pampas grass blooms. Haven't noticed any weedy activity for the pampas.

• Embothrium
    10 years ago