Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
centraldistrict

Cut raspberries back or no?

centraldistrict
13 years ago

Howdy all,

I have two raspberry plants that didn't produce at all this year. They're young plants, planted just last summer.

Some people tell me to cut them all the way back for the winter. Others tell me to just leave the stalks.

What should I do?

Thanks!

Comments (3)

• hemnancy
    13 years ago

This is advice below from google for our area. Do you know if yours are June bearers or everbearers? If you know the variety name you can look that up. The answer from below would be no either way, you will lose your fruit next year if you prune a cane that has not borne fruit yet this year.

On the fruit forum on GW, people in other parts of the country prune differently because their weather is different.

Nancy

"What Should I Do with Raspberry Plants after Harvest? This Is My First Year of Growing Them.
    Growing small fruits offers lots of pleasure for the home gardener --raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries produce tasty crops without requiring much space. To take care of the raspberry bushes, learn their growth habits. June-bearing, or early-season bearing raspberries (and other cane berries such as blackberries and black raspberries) bear fruit on canes which die after fruiting. The canes for the 1997 crop, for instance, grow during the summer of 1996.

In looking at your early-season raspberries, you will note two types of canes. One type will look green and fresh, and be growing actively. These canes will produce the 1997 crop. The others will have dead leaves, remnants of bloom and fruit, and will show overall browning. Prune these canes out and discard all canes that produced fruit during summer 1996. The raspberry patch then goes over winter with only canes for the 1997 crop.