Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diegartenfrau

Help, I can't grow Radishes anymore

diegartenfrau
18 years ago

Hi,

maybe someone has some tipps for me.

We moved 3 years ago to Eugene,OR. So I am new to Oregon gardening, and probably have lots to learn. This is my 4th different growing climate, after Germany, Southern California, Raleigh, NC and now here.

I used to grow Radishes just fine, even in San Bernardino, CA I didn't have problems growing them, although it got hot early in the season.

First I grew them on the side of the house, which didn't get full sun for the most part of the area, actually lot of the area was somewhat shaded by a huge Magnolia Tree and overhang. But that's where the former owners had a vegetable area.

Didn't have much luck, they got some leaves, sat there and eventually just shot up and made flowers. Never bulbed.

The area got new compost dirt from a local compost supplier, and had regular watering, all on a timer.

Okay, then I moved the Veggie garden this year to a new, huge sunny area, a small part is for a few hours semi shady, because of some trees from a neighbor, but mostly it is nicely sunny. The area not only got new dirt(part good gardensoil mix-part well composted chicken manure) it also has high raised beds (we had to build retaining walls to make a flat garden area), it got again water on a timer, I make my own all organic fertilizer, which I put on before I planted the seeds, and then again more halfway through. I still didn't get any radishes, the few I pulled, were tiny and were bitter/hot.

This is my 3rd year trying to grow them in Oregon, I am ready to give up. Is there some mystery to growing Radishes in Oregon, special conditions I am not aware off.

I see beautiful Radishes on the Farmers market, so I don't understand why they won't even get halfway to the ones the farmers grow.