Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caitrose

New to Olympia area

caitrose
12 years ago

Hi all,

My family will be moving from Palmer, Alaska to the Olympia area this spring. I'm relatively new to gardening, but had some real success at my first attempts in Alaska (we only lived there for two years). I'm actually pretty sad about leaving my second year rose and perennial garden behind, but such is life. :-) I was wondering if you had any pointers/recommendations for me? Anything from nurseries, plant varieties, what the soil is like, etc. When can you start planting for springtime? In Alaska everything is a no-go until Memorial Day, and even then it's risky. I know it's a pretty broad question, but any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Comments (12)

• Embothrium
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Have a look at this.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sunset climate zones: Western Washington state - Sunset.com

• caitrose
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks! Yes of course Sunset is a wonderful resource. It actually was the first place I visited, but I believe that the Olympia area is actually growing zone 7? This article only shows up to zone 6.

• caitrose
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Whoops that was dumb of me- look like the sunset zone for Olympia is actually zone 5! I always confuse the two...

• buyorsell888
    12 years ago

Keep in mind that Sunset zones and USDA climate zones are different.

• merrygardener
    12 years ago

Welcome, Caitrose! Like most of the Puget Sound region, gardening in Oly is a year-round affair! I do most of my "high quality" weeding on the occasional sunny days in late Jan. or February. Planting of tender annuals is usually an "after Mother's day" activity. Your particular micro climate will direct you as to what to do when.
    Regarding soil, lots of people report great (read: easy for gardening) soil.