Return to the Northwestern Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how to attract birds for eating bugs?

Posted by natalija_gardener (My Page) on
Mon, Nov 30, 09 at 18:04

I want to try natural method of deleting bugs(caterpillars and slugs) from my garden. I want to attract birds to my garden.
I bought some bird feed and what next? Where should I put it so they "see" it and come? Should I buy special equipment to use to put the feed on? Sorry for my naive question - I am new to all this;-))
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how to attract birds for eating bugs?

Bird seed attracts rodents. Stinky mice, and rodents that big birds eat along with pretty birds. Bird seed is a waste of money. That pretty bird you've named has been picked off for food by the national bandit.
Peace man.

o

My brother, put's out about 20# of bird food a month. he also plants about two acres of sunflower seed and other seed plants. I was at my brothers having a BBQ, but the bugs were getting the better of us; when a big flock of birds started flying around... and next thing you know, no bugs. He also has several apple trees, which he never sprays, with only very minor damage on the fruit. HUM!

o

I'm smelling stinkin rodents that invade my space with a hand full of naked little baby mice surviving on bird seed.

o

Gosh, there's an amazing amount of negativity emanating from you muddydogs.....chill!!

Birdseed doesn't attract any more rodents than does any manner of other urban garden attractions -- and quite a bit less if you use the 'no-waste' seed mixes. These should be offered in some sort of feeder, store bought or homemade. Place the feeder high enough so that the birds feel comfortable and so that neighboring cats can't pounce. And somewhere close to a roosting and/or nesting site - a large shrub or small tree, preferably evergreen.