Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hvaldez_gw

Help!!! Ground is Frozen!!! Let's try this again.

hvaldez
14 years ago

I just bought a bunch of spring bulbs a few days ago. Daffodils and tulips. I couldn't pass them up at 75 percent off. Now the ground is frozen solid. I do not want to "force" them. I read I can plant them in pots using potting soil. Can I leave them outside in the pots? Should I put them in the garage? (the garage has windows) And should I water them if I do put them in garage?

I am hoping when the weather warms back up I can plant them into the garden. Will this work? I am in Vancouver, WA.

Comments (17)

• barbe_wa
    14 years ago

I'm in Kelso and I planted mine in balcony boxes and put them outside. I've never done this before so I'm just hoping for good results, but the sale prices were too hard to pass up.

• grrrnthumb
    14 years ago

Put 'em in your garage & wait for Monday. It'll be unfrozen by then. Get your rain slickers ready. ;)
    - Tom

• botann
    14 years ago

I'm up in the foothills S.E. of Seattle. I expect snow first, then turning to rain. I've had enough of this cold, dry weather. I am getting a lot of pruning done however.

• lilydude
    14 years ago

Dutch bulbs in containers will be killed by these temperatures, unless the containers are well covered with bark or mulch or carpeting, etc.

• reg_pnw7
    14 years ago

Yes. The ground is frozen. Wait til next week when it thaws out, then plant your bulbs.

• buyorsell888
    14 years ago

I have purchased bulbs and then potted them in potting soil and left them outside without protection so that I can plant them into the garden when they are in bloom because I have so many others. I have done this multiple years, including last year when we had all the snow. I have about twenty pots out there now left from this year that I didn't get planted.

• hallerlake
    14 years ago

I had bulbs in pots come through last winter just fine, too.

• lilydude
    14 years ago