Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
estreya_gw

Crawl Space Flooding?

estreya
16 years ago

Hi guys ... this may not be the best place to post this, but there are so many knowledgeable people here that i thought i'd double post (the design forum being the other place).

My gardens are a work in progress, and one of my issues has been to properly consider and plan for all-things-drainage. I'm making sure my gutters are all clean and flowing, i put in a french drain, put in two other drains, and just had a sump pump put in for back-up. My question now is about the sump pump. Is this what it's supposed to look like? Is the water supposed to get to a certain level before it kicks in?

{{gwi:54261}}

Here's the other corner of the crawl space. It looks very very wet to me, with the foundation obviously porous and wet in some areas. Do you guys think i've got a larger problem on my hands?

{{gwi:54262}}

Comments (5)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

I'm no drainage expert, especially when it comes to crawl space issues, but as saturated as the ground is right now, that looks about right. Generally there is a plastic vapor barrier over the top of the soil to protect from dampness migrating up into the house under very wet conditions like we have now......I assume that's what the black is?? If so, make it sure it is covering the bulk of the floor.

Sump pumps take on various appearances but that one looks not too dissimilar from mine, although mine is a portable unit and only in place when I need, like now. And yes, they are triggered into action when the water hits a certain level, generally by a float kinda like the one in the toilet.

My sump pump's been working overtime today :-(( I posted about my flooded basement in the thread on snow. It's an old house with a funky, not fully excavated basement and the only other time it has ever flooded in the 24 years I've lived here is when we had a similar combination of weather factors.

• mdvaden_of_oregon