Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blest2bmom2two

What grows well in Troy, Ohio?

blest2bmom2two
19 years ago

We've just moved to Troy from Ontario, Canada. I am drooling over the gardening magazines and catalogs, but I have very little knowledge about what will do well here. We had to leave everything in Ontario, so I'm starting from scratch again. We have almost one acre - mature trees, shrubs and ornamentals, but very few flowering plants.

Our yard has lots of shade and part shade - not much full sun that I can see - except out by the road. When we bought our home in October the ground was totally hard packed, parched and cracked - so I'm thinking we are dealing with clay. Since we moved in November it's been grey skies, a wee bit of snow and rain most of the time! We are used to lots of snow and cold crisp winter days with lots of sunshine, so I'm hoping a much longer growing season makes up for a dull dreary winter!

We like easy care plants and lots of colour! With all of the indoor work we have had to do, our budget is limited, so what do you folks suggest we start with?

Thanks for your input!

Heather

Comments (7)

• blest2bmom2two
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Remembering that I'm fresh from Canada, you'll understand my complete and utter amazement that I found myself and our children out on the patio in light spring coats having lunch and enjoying the sunshine today! Unheard of! We have shovelled the snow off of the deck and had picnics in late March, but never in February! Our home school schedule was a bit unbalanced today - 4 hours of recess! We couldn't resist!