Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abbi_gw

dog friendly garden

abbi
15 years ago

I am new to gardening and would like some help. I have a small yard and dogs that have killed the lawn Also, the people who lived here before me had 11 labss and had put down topsoil and gravel in the back yard I guess for the dogs? Could anyone give me some help with creating a dog safe landscape that is user friendly for people and dogs to enjoy?I have heard it would be pointless to try to replant grass in the back yard? What would be good to cover the ground that would also be decorative and able to withstand dogs? Thanks.

Comments (3)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

Hi Abbi,

Sorry no one has had any ideas so far. I have a few questions
    Just how big is this small back yard?

I have heard it would be pointless to try to replant grass in the back yard?
    Who said that?
    Why did they say that?
    Do you have dogs as well? How many? How big? In the yard a lot, or just go out occasionally to do their business?

I would think that grass is most probably an option...at least part of it. I am clueless as to what groundcover might work for a whole back yard.

I have a large (huge) yard, with 3 big dogs that are outside pretty well 24/7. They keep the grass beat off in areas. They like to lay under some of the shrubs. I am making a 'bed' just for them, that they can lay under the shrubs in that bed, and hopefully I can discourage them from laying in the other ones. I gave up long ago trying to plant any flowers among the shrubs as they were soon laid on and destroyed.

Oh...the joys of having furbabies...sigh.

Sue

• broodyjen
    15 years ago